Book Review: 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing

I’m trying out viddler for the first time. I loved how simple it was. The only hiccup was the flash player crashing after I recorded this whole video the first time. Are you guys using viddler? Is youtube or something else better?

This week I reviewed the 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing by Al Ries & Jack Trout. It’s a book that I think every marketer should read. A lot of the stuff they talk about, we already kind of know. The way they present it though, allows you to understand how marketing works, at it’s core.

The big takeaway I got from this book is that much, if not all of marketing is about perception. In business, perception is everything. There are a number of factors, or “laws” that explain why consumers, perceive businesses the way they do.

Each one of these laws are carefully, but clearly laid out in this book. I’ve read books where authors dance hypothetically around obscure ideas. Reis and Trout sound like they know their shit, and make it very easy for you to grasp their message. No bullshit.

Published in 1993, many of the examples they use are something a millennial may have to rack their brains to remember (if they’re like me). The lessons behind the examples however, are as relevant today as they were then.

Give it a read. If you already have, what did you think?

Learn more:  The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing: Violate Them at Your Own Risk! [Amazon Affil]

38 Responses to Book Review: 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing

  1. Hi there! Someone inn my Facebook group shared this website witgh us so
    I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information.
    I’m bookmarking and wioll be tweeting this to my followers!
    Exceptional blog and superb design annd style.

  2. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  3. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that hhelped me.
    Thank you!

  4. Great delivery. Outstanding transport medyczny points.
    Continue the great work.

    This particular post link is invaluable. How can one find out more?

  5. Jose Barrios says:

    This is the right blog for everyone who wants to find out
    about this topic. You understand so much its almost tough
    to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a brand neew spin on a topic that has been wriotten
    about ffor ages. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  6. I pay a visit daily some websites and websites to read posts, however this website offers quality based articles.

  7. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking
    mkre of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shareed your site in my social networks!

  8. Every weekend i used to go to see this site, for the reason that i wish for enjoyment, since this this site conations really pleasant
    funny stuff too.

  9. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in reality used to be a entertainment account it.

    Look advanced to more brought agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

  10. I always used to reaqd post in news papers but now as I amm
    a user of internet thus from now I am using net foor content, thanks
    tto web.

  11. An intriguing discussion iss worth comment.
    I do believe that you ned to write more about this subject, it may
    not be a taboo subject but typically people do noot speak
    about these topics. To the next! Alll the best!!

  12. Very rapidly this site will be famous amid alll blog users, due to it’s pleasant articles
    or reviews

  13. Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your post.
    I like to write a little comment to support you.

  14. Andrew says:

    Great work! This is the kind of information that are meant to be shared across the internet.
    Disgrace on the seek engines for no longer positioning this put up upper!
    Come on over and discuss with my site . Thank you
    =)

  15. People respond straight to the energy that you emit, so make sure it’s a
    good power. As a side note, I am conscious there are feminine sexual kid abusers as well as male kids
    abused.

  16. If you know you won’t have access to clean water to wash your hands or time to clean your contacts properly it may be worth it investing on disposable contact lenses that can be thrown away
    after use. Rhinoplasty (- nose job) will generally cost
    not more that. Their medical center contributes to Turkish and world healthcare by providing quality medical services, evidence-based medicine and utilizing state of the art technologies.

  17. We are a gaggloe of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with helpful info to work on. You have done a formidable job
    and our whole community can be thankful to you.

  18. He then put Ruthering, Jane Sylvia into that
    folder, which contained no other documents yet.
    However, you must buy your season pass, and have it processed by June 30, 2010 in order for your friend to get the
    “bring a friend free ticket”. That really helped out when the kids saw all the wonderful things that were for sale at the vendors.

  19. this says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was
    great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not
    already ;) Cheers!

  20. Cortez says:

    Place the pictures in the chronological order,
    right from the birth until current. If we’ve worked well on reaching our objectives to our satisfaction, it will be a fantastic time to
    rejoice!

  21. Silke says:

    I used to be able to find good info from your blog
    posts.

  22. Since 2004, American Buffalo, holdings calculator and so many other
    types of placers. These two grading services whose grading may be announced later.
    Of silver is a key driving force for many years ago.
    The coins, bars, 90% silver and has a certain date. Gold was a also a lot of experience you generate
    for your orderAfter entering into the market.

  23. Great items from you, man. I have keep in mind your stuff previous to and you
    are simply extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re
    saying and the way in which you say it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to care for to keep it
    sensible. I cant wait to learn far more from you.
    That is actually a terrific web site.

  24. bad day says:

    Even when things go sour, remember that things will change again as they always have and always
    will. Whatever your path just keep moving up towards happiness one step at
    a time. Discover how to talk dirty to a guy and turn him on at your finger tips using these dirty talk examples.

  25. Compare and contrast your choices to decide what will work best
    for your room and budget. The last thing you would want is to have
    your viewing dominated by an overlay large screen. But Alfredo’s death has released him from this promise.

  26. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it
    looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

  27. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this site
    is in fact pleasant.

  28. This is also referred to as a ‘resource box’ but note that a
    biography and a resource box are not always one in the same.
    Doing a little training on the side doesn’t hurt either.
    In reality we do not have to know all these signals even though if we think hard and
    long enough we can figure them out.

  29. She served as an HRC Governor, supports the PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) annual 5K run, and recently sponsored the Love 4 Music and
    Arts Festival and Galveston Pride in October. Just submit your
    business details in these directory websites and feel the difference.
    ” The directory assistants shared their expertise on how the phone directories get additional money from advertisers like the senior living community.

  30. Way too pregnant early to test than day-counting alone.
    You should read the instructions. It affects more than 25 years, but true: mistakes
    help you determine exactly when you consider these conditions valid or invalid based
    on the stick and keep trying? It’s not worth it, Brit.

    Both of these symptoms. For example, women can cease to menstruate for various reasons, including antibiotics and contraceptives can result into miscarriages, birth control
    pills-they just kept changing the migraine.

  31. Great post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Many thanks!

  32. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I have discovered It positively useful and it has helped
    me out loads. I hope to contribute & help different users like its aided me.
    Good job.

  33. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is in the very same niche as yours and my users would
    really benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Appreciate it!

  34. I am in fact happy to read this blog posts which consists
    of tons of helpful data, thanks for providing such information.

  35. Aw, this was a really nice post. Spending some time and
    actual effort to produce a great article… but
    what can I say… I hesitate a lot and don’t
    manage to get nearly anything done.

  36. Why people still make use of to read news papers when in this technological
    globe the whole thing is existing on web?

  37. Thanks for the good writeup. It in truth was once a entertainment account it.
    Look complex to more brought agreeable from
    you! However, how can we be in contact?

  38. I do consider all the ideas you’ve presented on your post.
    They’re really convincing and will definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very short for newbies. May you please lengthen them
    a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.